Bladen County North Carolina


Health and Human Services Advisory Committee


The Bladen County Health and Human Services Advisory Committee is a body of professionals with the responsibility of advising the Bladen County Board of County Commissioners on issues affecting the health and welfare of Bladen's citizens. Some examples of their duties include advising the Board on policy-making, the setting of fees, and the creation of new Health and Human Services agency programs.  

The Committee is composed of 11 members that reasonably reflect the population makeup of the county. The membership includes: one physician licensed to practice medicine in North Carolina, one licensed dentist, one licensed optometrist, one licensed veterinarian, one registered nurse, one licensed pharmacist, one county commissioner, one professional engineer, and three representatives of the general public, two of which are advocates for Social Services. The members are appointed by the Bladen County Board of Commissioners.

The Advisory Committee meetings are held at 5:00 pm on the 2nd Monday of every month in the conference room of the Health Department. The meetings are open to the public.




Mollie Glenn, OD, Chair



Ray Cross, DDS, Vice-Chair



Linda Gillespie



Carl deAndrade, ChE



Jennifer Maynard, RN, BSN

(Registered Nurse)


Douglas Gensel, DVM



Robert Rich, Jr., MD



Charles Ray Peterson

(Board of County Commissioners)


Rachel Mitchell

(Social Services Representative)



Tommy Thompson

(Social Services Representative)


Rebecca Hester, PharmD